Seton Hall’s Park-Lane honored as Met Player of Year

Seton Hall’s Lauren Park-Lane was chosen Friday as All-Met Division I Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year by the Met Basketball Writers Association.

Retired Fairfield coach Joe Frager was selected as Coach of the Year Maggie Dixon Met and Columbia’s Kitty Henderson was named Rookie of the Year.

Park-Lane is the third Pirates player to receive the award, which has been selected annually since 1996. She joined Dana Wynne (1997) and Ka-Deidre Simmons (2015). Park-Lane helped the Pirates reach the WNIT playoff championship game.

She averaged 18.3 points and 1.6 steals to go along with 7.0 assists, which was fourth-best in the nation.

Frager completed his 15th and final year at Fairfield guiding the Stags to the school’s first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2001. Fairfield won the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference for the fourth time, going 19-1 in the league and 25-7 overall.

Frager went 285-197 at Fairfield and 474-280 over his 24 seasons, including nine at Southern Connecticut State.

Henderson, an Australian guard, started 23 games and averaged 8.3 points and 4.9 rebounds for the Lions, who had their best season in school history, winning 25 games and finishing second in the Ivy League. Columbia lost to Seton Hall in the WNIT quarterfinals.

Joining Park-Lane on the All-Met first team were teammate Sidney Cooks, Anna DeWolfe of Fordham, Abbey Hsu of Columbia, Lou Lopez-Senechal of Fairfield and Madison Stanley of Fairleigh Dickinson.


More AP Women’s College Basketball: and and https